Uncategorized

Trendsetter Blog Post

Our Teen Trendsetters are sharing blog posts on topics that matter to them in YA, and in life. Check out 9th grader Katie’s blog post below, and then follow her on Twitter @svmmersociety

Cutest Ships in YA Books

So before I start, I just want to say that this is probably the longest thing that I have ever written. I have 6 days to do this and I have absolutely no ideas. If this was an essay, I would just be able to BS the entire thing and do okay, but this isn’t school. Also, I may or may not have gone back to this paragraph and added to it.

This is already really off topic and I have to talk about anything YA related.

I’ve decided to talk about my favorite and the cutest ships.

If you’ve read The Selection you can obviously see how cute Maxon Schreave and America Singer are, unless you ship her with Aspen. The whole hate to love thing is great, but with 35 other girls competing for the prince, it’s amazing. The ear-pulling thing is so cute. If you have not read the books, when Maxon and America are in public, but want to talk to each other, they tug on their earlobe to signal the other person. I don’t know why, but I just find this really cute.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 11.28.38 AM

I have used that word too many times, but I need to use it again.

Annabeth Chase and Percy Jackson are tied with the above ship in being the cutest couple in the fictional world, and probably the real one too.

The Lightning Thief was the book that got me into books, and has forever changed my life. Although I read it almost 6 years ago, it’s still one of my favorite series. But enough about it because it’s middle grade and this is supposed to be about YA.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 11.28.46 AM

Day and June: If you have read the Legend trilogy you probably ship them, I mean is there even any way to not ship them. Although I hated the ending, the books were great and bot Day and June were really cute (when they weren’t trying to kill each other).

Next, Alec and Magnus: So I actually looked up synonyms for cute because I have used it so many times, but whatever. Malec was one of the greatest ships of all time until (spoiler) it sank. I was and still sort of am obsesses with it. I love it more than, dare I say it, Clace (Clary and Jace). I still haven’t read City of Heavenly Fire, but I really want to. Hopefully I will this year, if I ever get out of my reading slump.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 11.28.51 AM

I mean how can you see this and not be obsessed?

Emma and Galen: So I don’t really remember this series that well, other than almost mermaids, but I know I loved the ending because it left no chance of this ship sinking. Although the series just sort of ended I loved it and Emma and Galen just fit each other so well.

Delilah and Oliver: So, what time of reader can’t resist a book in which the protagonist falls in love with a fictional character, and he falls in love with her. They are, spoiler alert, super cute together.

I just looked, and apparently I’ve only used the word cute 8, now 9, times. That’s not too much.

Ava Orlova and Alex Romanova are also super, pun intended, cute. I love Marvel, so I was really excited to read this. It was great and the ship was kickass.

Lastly, Simon and Baz from Fangirl and Carry On: Although they were really cute in Fangirl, I still haven’t read Carry On. They only appeared in snippets of the fanfiction written by Cath, the main character, but even through those snippets, they were super cute.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 11.28.57 AM

If you’re interested in being a Teen Trendsetter, email marketing@paperlanternlit.com! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ Katie Guttenberg (@svmmersociety) 9th grade

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

