Teen Trendsetters

My Favorite YA Ship – Morrisa L.

by Morrisa L. (@morrisareads)

Rowaelin – To Whatever End

art by ashiibell.tumblr.com
art by ashiibell.tumblr.com

When someone asks me who my favorite ship is in Young Adult books, my answer is immediate: Rowan Whitethorn and Aelin Galathynius from the THRONE OF GLASS series by Sarah J Maas. If you haven’t read this series, I suggest you do. It’s a beautiful story about a young assassin and her journey of self-discovery. There’s a lot of kick-butt action, romance, and a plot twist you will never see coming. Also, if you haven’t read this series, I’m warning you now, spoilers ahead.

Now, I think what I love about Rowan and Aelin is how different their relationship is from the previous relationships Aelin had in the early books. She lost her first love, she was with Prince Dorian, and she had her heart broken by Chaol. However, in HEIR OF FIRE, the third book, Rowan starts off hating her and she him. He’s there to train her and shape her into the fae-warrior queen she was meant to be. They fight, they say nasty things to each other, but then they end up becoming extremely close. Rowan went from despising Aelin to dedicating his life to her in both a carranam bond, and swearing the first blood oath to her court. SWOON. Here are some of my favorite quotes from Heir of Fire:

“I claim you, Rowan Whitethorn. I don’t care what you say and how much you protest. I claim you as my friend.” – Aelin to Rowan

“Their hands clasped between them, he whispered into her ear, “I claim you, too, Aelin Galathynius.” – Rowan to Aelin

“I wish you to become who you ­were born to be. To become queen.” – Rowan to Aelin

Rowan supports her as queen, accepts her for who she is and her past. Things only got better in the fourth book, QUEEN OF SHADOWS. My favorite scene was when Rowan and Aelin reunited. He had stayed behind in his home while she returned to another kingdom to tie up some loose ends before heading home to reclaim her kingdom. Someone even made fanart for this scene!! Sorry it’s so hard to see.

tumblr_o0r28fSUKr1s3uj1so1_1280
made by lizthefangirl.tumblr.com

“She loosened a shuddering breath, and a small, whimpering noise came out of her – a sob. And then she was sprinting down the alley, flying as though the winds themselves pushed at her heals. She flung herself on the male, crashing into him hard enough that anyone else might have gone rocking back into the stone wall.” (Queen of Shadows, page 233).

I may or may not have cried at this point. The two of them rely on each other so much. They are each other’s rock and they completely and whole-heartedly support one another. Rowan sees her as his queen and will literally do anything for her. Their love is beautiful! Some more of my favorite quotes about how much they mean to each other from QUEEN OF SHADOWS:

“I spent centuries wandering the world, from empires to kingdoms to wastelands, never settling, never stopping—not for one moment. I was always looking toward the horizon, always wondering what waited across the next ocean, over the next mountain. But I think … I think that whole time, all those centuries, I was just looking for you.” – Rowan to Aelin

“I kept thinking about how you might never know that I missed you with only an ocean between us. But if it was death separating us … I would find you. I don’t care how many rules it would break. Even if I had to get all three keys myself and open a gate, I would find you again. Always.” – Aelin to Rowan

Are they not made for each other? I’m convinced that they’re mates. They finally kissed in Queen of Shadows and oh it was amazing. I just hope nothing bad happens to either of them. They’ve both lost their first loves, and I hope they can be together happily forever without pain. Sarah J Maas knows they’ve both suffered enough.

art by taratjah.tumblr.com
art by taratjah.tumblr.com

Our favorite love triangle is between Cass, Falco, and Luca in the SECRETS OF THE ETERNAL ROSE series, by Fiona Paul. Have you read these historical romances full of mystery, intrigue, and swoony characters?

1VenomousKissAmazon
Barnes & Noble
iTunes
2PoisonousTouchAmazon
Barnes & Noble
iTunes
3DangerousHeartAmazon
Barnes & Noble
iBooks
One thought on “My Favorite YA Ship – Morrisa L.

Leave a Reply

