Teen Trendsetters

My Favorite YA Ship – Amy D.

by Amy D. (@cityofslaylor)

            Choosing your favorite ship is (I imagine) akin to picking your favorite child. That is to say, impossible. So, rather that do that, I will discuss the most recent addition to my unofficial favorite ships list; Taylor Markham and Jonah Griggs from JELLICOE ROAD by Melina Marchetta. Jellicoe Road is a fantastic book about so much more than romance, but these two characters are just so freaking cute that I can’t help but love them.

            I am a huge fan of the hate-to-love trope in YA. I love watching the characters’ emotions evolve and the aftermath of that evolution, especially when the two characters have an interesting history together. Taylor and Jonah’s relationship evolves so much over the course of the book, and I loved seeing them come together. To make it even better, they bond over a super intriguing turf war between three rival schools in Australia. Taylor and Jonah are the leaders of two of the rival schools, and their dynamic throughout the entire book make me want to cry happy tears. It’s hard to discuss what makes their relationship so amazing and beautiful without spoiling a lot of the plot of JELLICOE ROAD, so just know that their love is adorable and the book is incredible. Since I read it, it’s been the only book that I want to talk about, so I need more people to read it so we can talk together. 


Our favorite love triangle is between Cass, Falco, and Luca in the SECRETS OF THE ETERNAL ROSE series, by Fiona Paul. Have you read these historical romances full of mystery, intrigue, and swoony characters?

1VenomousKissAmazon
Barnes & Noble
iTunes
2PoisonousTouchAmazon
Barnes & Noble
iTunes
3DangerousHeartAmazon
Barnes & Noble
iBooks
Leave a Reply

