Uncategorized

What to Do When You Love a Book…and No One Else is Reading It!

Trendsetter Blog Post

Teen Trendsetter Shanelle (@Seeshannelle on Twitter) is sharing her step-by-step process for sharing love for a book that no one else is reading!

What to Do When You Love a Book But No One Else is Reading It

These days, I keep reading one book after another, and I’m glad that I’m able to do so, but at the same time, books just start blurring in my head. It’s hard for me to really appreciate and love books, to find ones that make me really, really feel, so when I read Sarah Ockler’s The Summer of Chasing Mermaids and I found myself wishing everyone would read it, it was a surprise to me.

511APYPY1nL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The book was perfect. It had diversity, the best secondary characters, a sex-positive stance, and absolutely lyrical writing. Sadly, though, I haven’t found a lot of people reading it, and I wish there would be more people reading it because it’s such a marvelous book. And there are probably a lot of other people who feel the same way about other unnoticed but marvelous books, so here are some things that I came up with to book push to our full potential.

  1. Enthusiastically talk about it on ALL social media

Got into a Twitter chat and the question is about awesome books? Talk about the book that you love and wish more people would read. There are so many opportunities to push that awesome book that no one else has heard of on social media, and if you really love the book, I think that’s going to come across and get people excited. For example, I had posted a photo of The Summer of Chasing Mermaids on my Instagram, wrote the longest caption, but I got people curious about it and asking me about it in the comments.

  1. Create art for it

Got some skill with Photoshop or art materials? Then go create some graphics for Tumblr, or some quote posters, or something creative. That should get people’s attention, and if we’re taking Twitter for an example, a photo stands out among all that text. It should also make the author really happy that someone loves their work so much to create something for it! For example, I created some watercolor lettering to tell people to read The Summer of Chasing Mermaids, and that did get a good response from people, even from Sarah Ockler herself (SQUEE).

  1. Leave reviews on retailers

If you’ve written a review on Goodreads, then why not put that review on Amazon or The Book Depository too? Somebody might stumble upon the book’s page, get interested in it, and they’ll check out the reviews for what people have to say. So why not put your say in that area? It seems a little hard to imagine for, especially as a person who consults only Goodreads for reviews, but I have to remember not everyone out there knows about Goodreads, and may actually rely on those reviews that they see on Amazon. I know I have, when it comes to buying things other than books.

  1. Host a read-a-thon

If you’re a good organizer and if you know there’s some small interest, then go create a read-a-thon! It’s a great way to build interest and get people to commit to reading a book, and it could be a lot of fun for all those involved too! The more, the merrier, right? Authors are generally total sweethearts too, and I bet they would be more than happy to help out in some way with your event.

I hope you liked one of those ideas, and if so, go forth and push the hell out of that book. Because really, knowing that you made someone read a book that you love so much is hands down, the best feeling ever.

giphy-19.gif

If you’re interested in being a Teen Trendsetter, email marketing@paperlanternlit.com!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “What to Do When You Love a Book…and No One Else is Reading It!

Leave a Reply

