Uncategorized

The 2016 books we’re most excited about are…

We’re three months away from 2016 (we can’t believe it either!) and the PLL team is already so excited for these upcoming titles!

Lexa

Lexa Hillyer, Co-Founder

– HEARTLESS by Marissa Meyer (Queen of Hearts as a young girl–whatwhat! why didn’t WE think of this??!!! Love inversions of fairytales and classics, and Meyer pulls these off like no other. Her books are always creative, clever and compelling.)

– THE WINNER’S KISS by Marie Rutkoski (my writercrush, jeez. in case you’re one of the three people who hasn’t heard me rave about rutkoski yet, her storytelling, her prose, and her ability to evoke unrequited or doomed love, love that must be repressed for the sake of high morals, is remarkable. so into this series! I’m already thrilled and devastated to find out how it will conclude.)

kamilla

Kamilla Benko, Editor

– THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE by Heidi Heilig (A modern time-travel fantasy? Sign me up!)

– INTO THE DIM by Janet B. Taylor (Again, loving time-travel, but a historical descendant of Eleanor of Acquitaine? Real history plus fantasy? Sold.)

rhoda

Rhoda Belleza, Editor

– THANKS FOR THE TROUBLE by Tommy Wallach (I loved WE ALL LOOKED UP, so I’m really looking forward to Tommy’s next contemporary story with  a unique hook and his clean, accessible and thrilling prose.)

– THE BELLES by Dhonielle Clayton (I love the main conceit of this fantasy project: girls who can manipulate beauty, deceitful royalty, and one girl who can stop them? This series is going to be front and center on my bookshelf in 2016.)

tara

Tara Sonin, Marketing Manager

– SYMPTOMS OF BEING HUMAN by Jeff Garvin (I may be biased because we’re friends, but Jeff’s debut YA novel is objectively one of the most touching and complex portrayals of not only an mc who is gender fluid, but the messy business of figuring out who you are in a world that pressures you to be like everyone else.)

– REMEMBRANCE by Meg Cabot (The 7th book in Meg Cabot’s Mediator Series! I’ve been waiting for this book since I was a teenager!)

alexa

Alexa Wejko, Editorial Fellow

– PASSENGER by Alexandra Bracken (I have serious sea and time travel envy; I can’t be a time traveling ship captain because I get motion sickness. So I settle for living vicariously!)

– REVENGE AND THE WILD by Michelle Modesto (Because who doesn’t love a little lawlessness?)

Leave a Reply

