Uncategorized

Alexandra Diaz’ Lucky 7 Interview!

We are delighted to introduce to you the author of our next YA Studio title, WHEN WE WERE: Alexandra Diaz! Check out the interview below to find out the 411 on her, and remember to pre-order WHEN WE WERE by clicking here.
1. If you were a dessert, what would you be?
A chocolate chip cookie fresh from the oven–not too sweet, dark chocolate chips, crispy on the outside, soft and gooey on the inside. Oh, dear I’m hungry!

2. What’s the next place on your travel Bucket List?
Para-gliding in New Zealand. I’ve been wanting to go there for years, even have enough miles, but haven’t managed it. Soon, I hope, ideally combining it with a business trip (hint, hint teachers and librarians!)08 Author Photo
3. Which actress would you want to play you in the biopic of your life?
I honestly don’t know, it’s not something I’ve thought about. I’d be fine with Jennifer Lawrence or a younger Eliza Dushku, but I’ve never seen myself in either one. Ideally, I’d want someone not overly well-known, a bit socially awkward but self assured, bilingual, strong healthy body type, and yes because we’re all a bit vain, prettier than me.

4. What book has inspired your writing the most?
For “When We Were”, the two books that inspired me and my writing were Jaclyn Moriarty’s “Year of the Secret Assignments” and Ann Brashare’s “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants”. And although no one would guess, there’s a bit of Harry Potter in there as well.5. Who is your secret cartoon crush?
Don’t get me wrong, I have no interest in animals that way, but Simba is pretty charismatic. And come on, he’s got great hair!
-WhenWeWereFINAL2
6. Favorite TV show right now?
I don’t have a TV so there’s no show I’m following, but I loved Glee. I also enjoy Big Bang Theory but haven’t seen the latest season.
7. When you were six years old, what did you want to be when you grew up?
I did want to be a writer at that age even though I HATED writing in the journal we had to keep for school. Why write about what I did when writing about what I could be doing was much more interesting (I still feel the same way). I also wanted to be a roller skater, someone who plays kick ball, and of course a princess.
WHEN WE WERE comes out 9/20, but you can pre-order it today
Leave a Reply

