Uncategorized

Anya Allyn’s Lucky Seven!

Image

Anya Allyn’s Lucky Seven!

We are so excited to introduce Anya Allyn, author of Dollhouse. Here are some questions we asked her and her quirky, cool answers!

What actor/actress would you want to play you in the biopic of your life?
Johnny Depp. Wait… what? I’d say comedian Rachel Feinstein because the voices she does sound like the voices in my head (that I have to write down all the time) 😉 And bonus, she’d entertain people through all the boring bits. My kids tell me my jokes are bad – I could show them my biopic and say, see? See? I was funny.

When you were six years old, what did you want to be when you grew up?
A scientist, an artist, a writer and an astronaut. So far, I’ve only managed one out of the four…

Hoorah! You’ve just been hired by a circus! What will you be doing?
Probably selling peanuts and popcorn, and sneaking in after closing time to try out the trapeze while no one’s looking.

Who is your secret cartoon crush?
Daria. She said everything I wanted to.

What will the title of your autobiography be?
“View from the back seat of the stationwagon” – as told by my kids. Or, “She is too fond of books, and it has turned her brain.” – Louisa May Alcott

If you were a kitchen appliance – what would you be?
A broken toaster, as I’d rather keep sleeping than pop out of bed in the mornings.

If you could go on a road trip with any person (dead or alive), who would you choose and where would you go?
Author, Christine de Pizan. I have a fascination with all things medieval, and she was an author/court writer born in in 1364, who argued for the need to educate women and for women to have a role outside the home, and in praise of Joan of Arc. (I’d have to be automagically be given the power to speak 14th century French though!)DOLLHOUSE.pre-finalcover

Anya Allyn grew up in Sydney, Australia, and now lives by the beach on The Central Coast. She spends her days with five incredibly cool males – four of whom are her kids. As a child, she could be found reading, sketching comic strips or fainting during choir practice in her school convent. She has worked in entertainment, web content, and most recently as a Features’ Editor for Fairfax Media in Australia.Dollhouse is her first novel.

Follow Anya on Twitter and check out Dollhouse’s Goodreads page! Dollhouse will be published on May 20th, 2014, but is available for pre-order NOW!

Leave a Reply

