Uncategorized

PLL Picks: Books We Are Thankful For!

The PLL Editors have chosen some books they are thankful for, just in time for the holiday! Check out their recommendations and relax this weekend- you’ve earned some quality reading time with some classic faves.

Lauren Oliver: Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Image

The coziest book ever, and perfect to re-read over the holidays. Laurie!!!

Lexa Hillyer: Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson and Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Image

Sisters, jealousy, growing up, intense and generally unrequited love. YES PLEASE! These books got me through youth/adolescence.

Rhoda Belleza: Northern Lights/The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman

Image

Lyra always knew exactly what to say. Brave, clever, and always down for a quest–she went to the literal end of the universe to rescue Roger. Plus she had a daemon named Pan and I had a dachshund named Livingston; naturally, I believed they were shifted versions of each other.

Hayley Wagreich: Sandman by Neil Gaiman

Image

When I was a teen, I read everything I could get my hands on that by Neil Gaiman. Finally, I felt like I was ready for Sandman. I would order a new comic every few weeks, and hide out with it in my room. I made my brother swear not to tell anyone that I was reading instead of doing my homework. Pretty soon, all my friends had borrowed the books, and we were fans for life. Neil was going to be at BEA that year, and I begged my school librarians (shout out to Wendy and James) to sign my friends and I up for the conference. So, when I was fifteen, I essentially gatecrashed BEA as a tiny librarian. And I made Neil Gaiman sign my yearbook–because he had made my year.

Angela Velez: Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

Image

I am thankful for Ella, my favorite non-traditional princess who saves herself, the royal kingdom, and the swoon-worthy Prince Char. I always thought Ella and I could be besties–growing up, I also hated wearing fancy dresses and doing what people told me to do!

Leave a Reply

