Uncategorized

A Wrinkle in My Bookshelf

While browsing Barnes & Noble this week looking for a book to read that isn’t required for a class, I came across the latest edition of A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. This was the book that sparked my interest in reading. As a child it opened my eyes to how a great book can transport you from, in my case, the boring Connecticut suburbs into the magical, mystery world of Meg Murry and her friends. Needless to say I had to have this new edition.

After I purchased it and displayed it proudly upon my bookshelf, I got to thinking that everyone must have their own A Wrinkle in Time. Everyone has that one book that can make them feel instantly better when they’re sick. That book that goes perfectly with a snowy day and a mug of hot chocolate. That book that was passed down to them, and that they will continue to pass on for generations. As Anna Quindlen states in her forward to the newest version of A Wrinkle in Time, these are the books that “make us feel less alone, convince us that our own foibles and quirks are as individual as a fingerprint and as universal as an open hand.”

What’s your feel-better-book?

-Jessica

2 thoughts on “A Wrinkle in My Bookshelf

  1. Alanna by Timora Pierce. My friend gave me the book to read in Middle School, I had certain books that I had like well enough before, including The Lion, the Witch, and the Ward Robe, but Alanna was the first book that really “took me away”. I was hooked on reading after that one book. I love Tamora Pierce still.

  2. Hoop Dreams. My ever so sophisticated friends and I would gather around to read this back back in middle school. There was Goody, The Clam, Darren, Brandeis O’Doyles, Tricky Dick, T-Low, Clance, and myself. There were victories and losses, laughs and tears, but the important thing is that we went through it together. I cherish those times. They were the best of times, and the worst of times.

Leave a Reply

