Uncategorized

Win A Copy Of WITHER From Us!

“Eventually I realize I am holding onto him just as tightly as he holds on to me. And here we are: two small dying things, as the world ends around us like falling autumn leaves.”

It’s no secret that PLL has a few favorite YA authors named Lauren: Lauren Oliver, Lauren Kate, Lauren Myracle, and Lauren Morrill, just to name a few. Well here’s another Lauren to add to our hall of fame. Lauren DeStefano’s debut, WITHER, the first in a trilogy called THE CHEMICAL GARDEN, is one of the best books of the year so far.  Reading it is like floating down a stream—at times you want to hurry ahead to find out what’s around the next bend; at other times you get caught up in the swirling beauty of the moment, and just want to linger there.

In a future world ravaged by a virus that kills women at the age of twenty and men at the age of twenty-five, sixteen-year-old Rhine Ellery’s life changes overnight when she becomes a captive bride. One minute, Rhine is living in a decrepit basement with her twin brother, Rowen, fending off rats and starving orphan thieves. The next, she is being hustled into a dark van with a bunch of other girls—only three of whom will ever see the light of day again. Rhine and her two chosen “sister wives” are then delivered to their new home: a gigantic mansion in Florida, full of beautiful holograms meant to simulate the old world. They are pampered and primped and given everything a girl could possibly want in her very short lifespan. Except one thing: freedom.

Rhine’s old life may have been dangerous and terrifying, but it was her own, where she was free to choose how to live and who to love. Now, with the help of cute kitchen staffer Gabriel and the unlikely support of her sister wives, Rhine must make the ultimate decision—to die slowly among beautiful illusions, or to escape with her freedom, into the unknown.

At turns terrifying and disturbing, elegant and touching, exciting and sexy, Wither is NOT to be missed! Don’t let your life wither away without reading this book. We can’t say enough good things about it!


Want to win a free copy from us? Check out all the ways to win!

1) You MUST submit a comment on this post to be entered. Suggested topics? I don’t have any this month. Surprise me!

2) You can garner ANOTHER entry by tweeting about the contest. Be sure to include @paperlanternlit in your tweet so we don’t miss it!

3) You can get YET ANOTHER entry by being a subscriber to our newsletter! If you’re not already, sign up by following the link in our sidebar. If you are, be sure to let us know so we can mark down your entry. YOU DO NOT NEED TO INCLUDE YOUR EMAIL IN YOUR COMMENT TEXT. Just let us know if you’re a subscriber.

Do all three and you’ll be entered three times. Easy peasy! Contest ends 11:59pm May 11 and a winner will be announced May 12. Good luck!

27 thoughts on “Win A Copy Of WITHER From Us!

  1. What people truly think of ebooks, how they are transitioning to ereaders (I still prefer physical books) I even wrote about it
    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2011/04/my-kindle-review.html
    The hype that books will get through promo/tours/giveaway vs books that don’t end up going main stream
    How many people will cover shop and how annoyed people will get if they change the book format and how they won’t be the same
    Paper back vs hard back reading preference
    What type of characters people like or don’t like. I can’t stand whiny characters and I haven’t finished series because of this, for example as interesting and intriguing the story of Uglies was I can’t get past the 1st book because she is so vain although I understand that it was how she was raised, I just can’t get past it.
    Growth and popularity of the YA market and calling it YA vs Teen and how adult readers feel about shopping in the “teen” section

    I already do prescribe to your newsletter 🙂

    tweeted from Kr15tina

  2. What I don’t get, and one of the big reasons I want to read the book, is how old is Rhine’s father? I have seen that he is trying to find a cure… but how can be be alive if he should have died at age 25?

    tahleen{dot}ovian{at}gmail{dot}com

  3. I keep hearing great things about this book and I really, really want to read it. Would love to be entered.

    Tweeted about this contest via @clemmybojangles

  4. I would LOVE to win this book! It’s on my amazon wish list and it would be great to be able to take it off because I have it lol

  5. I did not realize this was part of a series. I love the name The Chemical Garden for a series, and the cover art here is beautiful. This is one of those books I keep seeing mentioned, but I haven’t gotten to think much about it b/c of trying to get through my own To-Read stack. I like the description of “disturbing, elegant and touching.”

  6. I’ve heard so much about this book… it really looks amazing. I’m a huge fan of dystopias, and I’m so glad that someone has decided to write a book about a forced marriage where the husband is actually a nice guy. Such a unique idea.

    I tweeted. 🙂

  7. I’ve been hearing so much about this book, good and bad (mainly GOOD) and I really want to know more about it. 🙂
    Please count me in if it’s international.

  8. Please enter me in the contest (if it open to the UK). The cover is beautiful and I’m a sucker for a dystopia!

    Nikki xxx

  9. Ah, I’ve wanted to read this for ages but I was waiting for the paperback to be released. I’ve read how it’s kind of a YA version of The Handmaid’s Tale, which I loved!

Leave a Reply

