Uncategorized

How Can You Tell When A Genre is Done?

I saw this story in eBookNewser and had to groan (as did they). In the vein of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Quirk Books is now releasing Meowmorphosis, based on Kafka’s tale of Gregor Samsa’s transformation into a giant bug.

Quirk Classics was an interesting idea, and it has done well for itself, though I’ve never been much of a zombie girl myself. But taking Kafka’s bug and turning it into a kitten? I’m not sure if that’s more of an insult to Kafka’s message or kittens.

But how can you truly tell the end of an era? What genre fad do you think is coming up next? What do you think is on it’s way out? Let us know in the comments.

-Beth

One thought on “How Can You Tell When A Genre is Done?

  1. I read Pride & Prejudice & Zombies and LOVED it. It was a delight to read how well the original story stood up in the midst of all the Unmentionables. I tried to read Sense & Sensibility & Seamonters, written by a different author, and I could barely get 1/3 of the way through. It felt forced, hokey and just plain not interesting. I think it’s hard to take a mash-up concept like that and make it work in all cases. To the credit of Seth Grahme-Smith (who wrote P&P&Z), his novel Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is also excellent. It goes w/out saying, good writing is good writing.

    Eventually, I think the YA dystopians will run their course, although I’ve read a few excellent novels in that genre. As long as the writing is decent and the worlds are convincing, I think there is room for that genre to grow, it’s just that people get fickle when they see a flood of too much of any one thing.

Leave a Reply

