Uncategorized

Fairy Tale Treats

There are a slew of upcoming fairy tale inspired movies coming out soon and we here at PLL are wondering if it’s the newest trend or just a passing fad. Personally, I am all for it. I adore fairy tale retellings. I can count at least five versions of Cinderella, two of Beauty and the Beast, three of Alice in Wonderland, an alternate version of The Little Mermaid, and at least two versions of Sleeping Beauty on my bookshelf just right now. I’m a bit of a fairy tale nerd.

So needless to say, I’m pretty excited about these two upcoming films. First, Red Riding Hood. Some of my friends are turned off because they only see Amanda Seyfreid as “the dumb chick from Mean Girls,” but I think her work in Mamma Mia! and Letters to Juliet redeem her for predicting the weather with her boobs. Plus, I’m of the firm belief that you have to be pretty smart to play someone that dumb. My only concern for the film is the definite-Twilight influence, between the “supernatural love triangle” and the Dashboard Confessional-esque soundtrack in the trailer. But I’m always up for a dark fairy tale, as long as they don’t forsake the story for the teen angst. Check out the trailer below and let us know what you think!


Second, we have Beastly. I know this is out already, but I haven’t gotten to the movie theater. I am dying to see it. Now there are many, many reasons that this film might be swoon-worthy. First, can we talk about how creepy MK Olsen is as the witch? Love seeing childhood stars coming into their own. Second, we have the very fine Alex Pettyfer playing the Beast, and still managing to look sexy in his tattooed/scarred state. Third, NPH. I don’t really need to explain that one do I? And finally, the always adorable Vanessa Hudgens as Beauty. Full confession: I’m one of those people who is always disappointed when the Beast turns back into the prince at the end. Of course, it’s a given that he’ll go back to being handsome at the end. At least, I’m pretty sure they won’t waste Pettyfer’s pretty face. Have you seen it? Was it good? If you haven’t seen it, do you think they’ll break tradition and give me my wish? If you have, don’t spoil it, please!


So. What do you think? Are fairy tale retellings the next pop culture craze, or am I swooning alone?

-Beth

Leave a Reply

